World, Meet Lola

From the moment I laid eyes on her, I knew it was love. She was perfect. Her curves, her pattern…everything.

 

The love affair all began last April when I saw a posting on Craigslist for a couch taken out of the old Idaho City Hotel. It was crushed velvet with a tufted seat and back, and a beautiful shape. I had just received birthday money from my parents, and thought this would be the perfect purchase, and for a mere $100. I had to go see it, so I called my mom up and we drove on over.
Much to my disappointment, this was not the couch for me. Don’t get me wrong, it was a great piece; however, it was missing one of its legs and in its place was a horrible peg of wood. This may not seem like a big deal, but I knew it would be difficult (if not impossible) to find a replacement leg that the couch was so deserving of. I was nearly broken hearted; I went to the house expecting to take this lovely couch home. In fact, I was already doing research on reupholstering it, but knew it was no longer possible.
Then, the clouds parted and the sun shined through. The man mentioned he had another couch inside that he had also been planning to put onto Craigslist. Although I am not sure this is true because it was in his daughter’s room, obviously being loved/used.
I am grateful he mentioned this secondary beauty, because once I saw it, I knew it had to come home with me. I asked him his price and nearly fell to the floor when he spouted out, “uh, seventy-five bucks?” I tried to act cool, continuing to look around at the couch as if I was unsure, catching glimpses of my mom smirking in the corner of my eye.
Deal.
We loaded her up and headed back home. She was…she is, my Lola.

I love the way her original pattern looked, the colors were perfect too. However, others clearly loved her also. She was dirty, worn and covered in kitty scratches. Much to Mr. Sword’s dismay, she sat front and center in the living room, even in her tattered state.
After months of waiting, pricing, researching and saving, I have finally given her a new life. Mr. Sword’s boss recommended the perfect woman for the job and we couldn’t be more pleased with the way Lola turned out!
Check out the transformation. I sanded her down and stained her a dark ebony.
Tah Dah!

Is she not gorgeous?! My next project is to sew her some pillows out of the beautiful fabric I bought while getting the material to recover her. The small side pillows were made by the lady that did the re-upholstery. If any one needs her services, let me know. I HIGHLEY recommend her, she did a fabulous job and was very reasonable.

Leave a Reply

